About Me

New Zealand photographer Iain Scott as a child

This was me in the early/mid 1970s. Despite the fact my clothes are all one colour, I’m fond of this snapshot because I seem to have been studying a photograph on my lap, a sign of things to come.

Hello! My name is Iain Scott, and I am a New Zealand photographer, based in Palmerston North. You may want to know something about the person behind the photographs, so I thought I’d share 20 random facts (if you want to know more about my credentials as a photographer, you can check them out by clicking here).

  • Photography is my second career. My first career was in journalism.
  • I thrive on music. Unless it’s inappropriate, I always have music around me. I listen to just about every genre from Gregorian chant to metal, from Baroque to hip-hop. Some music I’m not allowed to play at home unless I’m alone. High on that list are country music, Frank Sinatra, and Michael Bublé.
  • The Beatles have been my favourite music group since 1991.
  • I met my wife at her cousin’s wedding, and it was love at first sight. I am still utterly in love with her.
  • Outside of photography, my main hobby involves collecting, cataloguing, and listening to old-time radio programmes.
  • My favourite movie is Cinema Paradiso, but the movie I’ve seen more times than any other is probably Top Secret.
  • I love reading, and I have a pretty impressive library.
  • If I were forced to eat only one country’s cuisine for the rest of my life, I’d choose India.
  • As a journalist, I met and interviewed Nelson Mandela a few times.
firstphoto001

The first photo I took with my first camera, a Kodak Handle 2 presented by my paternal grandparents in 1980, on the day before my 12th birthday.

  • I have a weakness for Pascall jet planes.
  • I’m the eldest of three siblings. My parents and sister are here in New Zealand, while my brother lives overseas.
  • When I get the chance, I love baking my own bread – in an oven, not a breadmaker.
  • I have a female Tonkinese cat named Pixel, who on cold days spends most of her time curled up inside my jacket or shirt when I’m at home.
  • I am hopeless at maths. It can take me a minute or two to multiply two double-digit numbers without the help of a calculator.
  • I can speak Esperanto quite well.
  • I am learning to play bluegrass banjo. I also play the keyboard.
  • In addition to rugby, I also have a fondness for American football and baseball.
  • I don’t like Tuesdays.
  • I am in my second year of learning te reo Māori through Te Wānanga o Aotearoa.